Hawaii Real Estate License Classes / Courses  -  Online Real Estate License School  -  Low Cost & High Pass Rates

​Seiler School of Real Estate


judgments, or outstanding tax obligations?

Frequently asked Questions

How long does it take to complete the Independent Study Course?
Students complete the course at their own pace; provided the course must be completed  WITHIN 6 MONTHS OF YOUR PAYMENT. NO EXTENSION WILL BE GRANTED.  A student on Kaua'i finished the course in ten days.  That is extraordinary.  Depending on a student's urgency, and their other time commitments to family and employment, completion time varies widely.  It typically takes 60-90 days.​

What if I have past convictions, default on student loans, noncompliance with child support order, disciplinary actions, pending law suits, unpaid judgments or outstanding tax obligations?
The Hawaii Real Estate Commission is experiencing an increase in the number of real estate applicants who answer "yes" to questions on the application related to past convictions, disciplinary actions, pending law suits, unpaid judgments, noncompliance with child support order, default of any obligation under any student loan, student loan repayment contract, or scholarship contract that financed the licensee's or applicant's education, or has failed to comply with a repayment plan, outstanding tax obligations, complaints filed with a licensing agency.  A number of the applicants for licensing are denied a real estate license after spending monies, time, and effort in taking and passing a prelicensing course and the exam due to a questionable background issue.

PRIOR to enrolling in prelicensing education or examination requirements, an individual candidate may request that the real estate commission consider a preliminary decision as to whether the individual candidate for a real estate license will be denied a real estate license.  The Request for Preliminary Decision application is available online at the real estate commission's website,  www.hawaii.gov/hirec  There is a $25.00 non-refundable application fee.  All documentation related to the questionable activity should be obtained and submitted with the application, along with letters of reference, a resume of activities, and a brief written explanation of the questionable circumstances.

What are the real estate licensing requirements in Hawaii?

No individual shall be eligible for the licensing examination unless the individual is a United States citizen, a Untied States national, or an alien authorized to work in the Untied States, and of the age of majority (18), has a high school diploma or its equivalent. and has satisfactorily completed a commission approved prelicensing course for real estate salesperson or broker, or its equivalent as determined the commission.  You must also pass the State licensing exam, make written application for your license, and pay the appropriate fees.  As a "Salesperson" you must "hang" your license with an existing brokerage company and conduct your real estate activities under the supervision of the firm's principal broker.  Or, you may apply for your license and place it directly on an "inactive" status.

What are the education requirements to obtain a real estate license in Hawaii?
Salesperson:  The education requirement for the salesperson license examination shall be satisfied by successful completion of a curriculum in real estate at an accredited institution, consisting of a minimum of sixty (60) class hours and conforming to the approved curriculum for salesperson adopted by the real estate commission or such equivalent education or experience as shall be determined by the real estate commission.

Broker:  The education requirement for the broker license examination shall be satisfied by successful completion of a curriculum in real estate at an accredited institution, consisting of a minimum of eighty (80) class hours and conforming to the approved curriculum for salesperson adopted by the real estate commission or such equivalent education or experience as shall be determined by the real estate commission. 

What are the Independent Study Course Prerequisites?

  • Registrants should be at least 18 years old;
  • Have access to a computer with printer capabilities;
  • An active email account;
  • Reliable access to the internet;
  • Basic skills using an internet browser;
  • A good dose of self discipline;
  • A willingness to followed the detailed Study Assignments.

How do I register for the Independent Study Course?
You can REGISTER HERE using our secure order site with a credit card or debit card.  Do not mail your credit card information.  We do not accept payment by cash, check or money order.

I'm in a hurry, may I stop by your office to register and pick up my materials?
This is not practical since this is an Independent Study Course, we are seldom in our office.  Please register online here using our secure order site using a credit or debit card.  Your textbook should arrive in 2-3 business days. In the mean time you will receive an email with Orientation and Study Assignments that you can get started on while you await the textbook shipment.

What is the process for completing the Seiler School of Real Estate Independent Study Course?

In order to receive a course completion certificate from Seiler School of Real Estate, students will be required to:

  • Expend a minimum of sixty hours in completing the Salesperson course
  • Expend a minimum of eighty hours in completing the Broker course
  • Log their study time on a log sheet provided by Seiler School of Real Estate
  • Complete the detailed Study Assignment for each Module at the Study Hall page PRIOR to attempting the Module Tests
  • Answer questions at the end of each chapter in the textbook
  • Sales Candidates score a minimum of 70% on the “Module Tests" on the Internet
  • Broker Candidates score a minimum of 75% for on the “Module Tests" on the Internet
  • Pass the two-part course finals.  Salesperson = 70% or higher on each section of the exam;    Broker = 75% or higher on each section of the exam.

​What is the policy on attendance and grades?
The State requires a student to reasonably expend 60 hours in completing the course for Salesperson certification; and 80 hours for Broker certification.  Students must also pass the 2-part class final exam to be certified. Minimum passing grade for Sales candidates is 70%; Minimum passing grade for Broker candidates is 75%.

How quickly can I expect a response to my email?
The instructor attempts to respond to emails within 24 hours.  However, if the email is received after business hours, on weekends or holidays it may take a bit longer.  If you do not receive a response to your email in 24-36 hours, kindly call 808.874.3100 and leave a voice message. 

What is the course content?
Overview of the real estate business; History and development of Hawaii real property; Land, land elements and waters; Personal property and fixtures; Estates and interests in real property; Easements, restrictions, and adverse possession; Methods of ownership, HRS 467, real estate brokers and salespersons; Federal fair housing and Hawaii discrimination law; Agency and ethics; Listing contracts; Sales contracts; Hawaii standard form documents; Escrow and evidence of title; Transfer of titles, wills, descent, and deeds; Acknowledgments, recording, and constructive notice; Settlement statements; Financing and mortgages; Liens and foreclosure; Truth in lending and real estate settlement procedures act; Property management and leasing; Land description; Appraising; Government land use controls, planning, zoning, building ordinances, and environmental disclosures; Real property tax and tax aspects of real estate ownership; Condominium, Cooperative, Time Sharing, Planned Development Housing, and Subdivision.

What are the approximate costs involved in obtaining a Hawaii Real Estate License?
$  61.00    Fee to PSI Services LLC to take the Hawaii Real Estate Exam
$340.00    Initial Licensing Fees to State of Hawaii

$401.00    SUB-TOTAL (Does Not include Realtor Association dues or Multiple Listing Fees if applicable)

What is the policy on refunds, substitutions, transfers and withdrawals?
No refunds or withdrawals once the materials have been shipped from our office.  No substitution of students.  No extension of time.

What are the Hawaii Department of Taxation Requirements?
Anyone considering applying for a real estate license should resolve all outstanding tax obligations with the Hawaii Department of Taxation prior to submission of an application and preferably prior to taking the prelicensing course and licensing examination.

Is it possible to apply for an educational equivalency?
The real estate commission may grant an equivalency to the respective education requirements for applicants for the salesperson and broker license examinations for:

  • Those who hold a current license that was active within one (1) year immediately prior to the date of application as a salesperson or broker in another state with similar or superior education requirements as determined by the commission;
  • Graduates of an accredited law school;
  • Bachelor of arts or bachelor of science degree graduates of accredited colleges and universities who have majored in real estate or business; (salesperson candidate only)

​All requests for equivalency to the educational requirements shall be submitted in writing, together with all supporting documents of an official nature to the Hawaii Real Estate Commission, 335 Merchant Street #333, Honolulu, Hawaii 96813 for its review, prior to filing the application for examination.

Why is it that some of the questions in the online Test Modules are not specifically covered in the textbook?
Questions on the state exam are not limited to information in any one textbook; it comes from many sources.  To prepare students for that reality, we include questions in our online tests that contain information from a variety of resources.  It is important that students follow the detailed Study Assignment for each Module, including the links to additional study resources, at the Study Hall page of the Student Center in order to maximize their chances of passing the Module Tests.

Why do the questions on the online Test Modules seem more difficult?
The online Test Modules include a variety of question formats: True & False; Multiple Choice; Matching; Fill in the Blank; Multiple Select; and Drop Down Select.  Some of these formats, especially the Multiple Select, can be challenging.  They are designed to insure that the student has a thorough understanding of the reading material in the textbook before they move on to the next Module.  As a result, many of our graduates email us to let us know that they appreciate the fact that they were "well prepared" to pass the State Exam on their first attempt.  Review the "Testimonial" page to see what our students have said.

What is the minimum passing score on the tests?
The minimum passing grade on each Module Test and each section of the 2-part Course Final is 70% for Sales Candidates.  The minimum passing grade on each Module Test and each section of the 2-part Course Final is 75% for Broker Candidates.  We recommend that the student set a goal of obtaining scores in the 80% range on each of the Module Tests.  They can then rest assured that they will be well prepared for the Course Finals and the Hawaii Real Estate Exam.

What happens if I don't pass an online Module Test or Final Exam?

  • It usually indicates that the student needs to invest more reading and study time before they attempt the Module Test:
  • Go to the STUDY HALL page of my website and follow the detailed Study Assignment for the Module;
  • Go back to the textbook and read the information in the Module again;
  • Retake the quiz at the end of each of the chapters in the Module;
  • Review the online Module Outline at the Preview/Review section of the Student Center;
  • Review the answers that were incorrect from the first attempt at the Module Test;
  • Contact the instructor seiler@maui.net a day before you are ready to retake the Module Test and request that it be reset;
  • The cost to repeat an online Module Test is $10.00
  • The cost to repeat either section of the Course Final is $25.00 for each repeat

What is the process involved to take the 2-Part Independent Study Course Final Exams?

The student will first need to find a test proctor (someone not related), that will be present during the online testing.  The test proctor must sign an affidavit verifying the identity of the student and the validity of the testing process.  A friend, business associate, real estate broker, title or escrow officer, etc.

The online course finals include two sections that are graded independently.  Minimum passing score on each section is 70% for Sales Candidates and 75% for Broker Candidates.  The Uniform Portion includes 100 questions about real estate in general throughout the United States; and the State Portion includes 100 specific questions relating to Hawai'i rules and regulations.  You are allowed 2 1/2 hours to complete each section and may elect to take them on separate days.

If a student is not successful, the cost to repeat either section of the Course Finals is $25.00

How long will it take to receive a Certificate of Completion from Seiler School of Real Estate? 
Please allow one week processing time from the date you successfully pass the course finals, and have emailed Seiler School with the requested information, to receive the Course Completion Certificate from Seiler School of Real Estate.  You need to take the original Course Completion Certificate with you to the State Exam Test Site.

How long does a student have to take the Real Estate Exam after receiving the Course Completion Certificate from Seiler School of Real Estate?
We suggest you schedule the state real estate 1-2 weeks after completion of our course; however, the certificate from Seiler School of Real Estate is effective for a period of two years from the date of issue, allowing you to take the licensing exam any time during that period.

What is the process for taking the Hawaii real estate exam?
The State Real Estate Licensing Examination program is administered by PSI Services LLC, under contract with the Hawaiʻi State Real Estate Commission.  Click here to review the Candidate Information Bulletin.

Please contact PSI Services LLC   800-733-9267 to verify the current testing schedule and location most convenient for you.

Hawaiʻi Island:
North Hawaii Education and Research Center, 45-539 Plumeria Street, Honokaʻa, HI 96727.

Maui:  University of Hawaii Maui - Get room assignment from PSI,   310 W Kaahumanu Avenue,  Kahului, HI 96732.

Oʻahu:  PSI Services LLC Test Center, Ala Moana Pacific Center, 1585 Kapiolani Boulevard, Suite 1135, Honolulu, HI 96814.

Kauaʻi:  Lihue - Marriott Kauai Resort,  3610 Rice St  (Testing is located in the Nawiliwili Room of Puna)

Lihue, HI  96766
1347 Ulu Street, Kapaʻa, HI 96746

Test reservations need to be arranged with PSI Services LLC.  For the fastest and most convenient test scheduling process, PSI recommends that candidates register for their exams online.  In order to register online, candidates will need to have a valid MasterCard or VISA.  Phone reservations are accepted at 800-733-9267.   The  cost of taking the exam is currently $61.00

On the neighbor islands the test site is sometimes fully booked weeks in advance, so plan accordingly.  You may consider scheduling a test date on Oahu if the neighbor island test sites are fully booked.

Please allow one week processing time from the date you successfully pass the course finals to receive the Course Completion Certificate from Seiler School of Real Estate.  You need to take the Course Completion Certificate with you to the State Exam Test Site to gain entrance to the exam.

Can the Hawaii real estate exam be taken on the mainland?
Hawaii real estate candidates may test at any PSI Services LLC test center in the United States as long as the test center has the appropriate software to administer the Hawaii Exam.  Interested candidates may make a reservation at 800-733-9267.

How soon after the state exam do I have to activate my real estate license?
Anyone who successfully passes the Salesperson exam must apply for their license in writing within two years of the exam date, or their test scores will be declared invalid, and they must retake the test. It is possible to apply for a license and have it placed directly on "inactive" status, but the same licensing fees are required.

What important information should I know about obtaining my real estate license in 2020?
If you apply for a new salesperson or broker license before the end of 2020 you will have to pay license fees twice in 2020.  In addition to the fees you pay for your new license, you will have to pay renewal fees to renew your license by November 30, 2020 for the licensing period from 1/1/2019 to 12/31/2020.  The law does not allow for proration of the fees. 

To avoid paying the license fees twice in 2020, some of our graduates have opted to do the following:

  • Complete the course in 2020;
  • Schedule and pass the State Exam in 2020;
  • Wait until January 1, 2021 to apply for their real estate license.

How long will it take to receive my real estate license from the State of Hawaii?
Please allow at least 2 to 3 weeks from the date you submit your completed application, along with the appropriate fees to the Hawaii Real Estate Commission.